Nirvana Rocks Lifetime Achievement Award at Grammys Special Merit Celebration

At the Special Merit Awards, held before the 65th Grammys on February 5, Nirvana was awarded a lifetime achievement award. Dave Grohl and Krist Novoselic accepted the award, given by The Recording Academy on February 4. Novoselic expressed his gratitude and noted that he still receives fan mail from all over the world, with a new generation discovering Nirvana’s music.

In addition to Nirvana, other awards were given to artists and professionals, including Heart, The Supremes, Jim Stewart, Slick Rick, Nile Rodgers, Bobby McFerrin, Ma Rainey, and Henry Diltz. A full list of the awardees can be seen below:

Lifetime Achievement Awards:

  • The Supremes
  • Nirvana
  • Ann Wilson and Nancy Wilson
  • Nile Rodgers
  • Slick Rick
  • Bobby McFerrin
  • Ma Rainey

Trustees Awards:

  • Jim Stewart
  • Ellis Marsalis
  • Henry Diltz

Technical Grammy Award Honourees:

  • AES
  • Dr. Andy Hildebrand

Music Educator Award:

  • Pamela Dawson, Director of Choral Activities, DeSoto High School, DeSoto, Tex.

The Grammy’s 50th-anniversary tribute to hip-hop will feature performances by Future, Missy Elliott, Glorilla and more, co-curated by Questlove. He described hip-hop’s impact as immeasurable and a driving force in music and culture. The Grammy Awards will be hosted by Trevor Noah for the third time in a row and held at the Arena in Los Angeles. Leading nominations include Beyoncé, Kendrick Lamar, and Adele.

About Jonas Smith 560 Articles
Hi! I'm Jonas, a freelance writer and a fan of indie music. For more information or to require a correction please contact: contact(at)