New Indie Albums August 2021

Big Red Machine – How Long Do You Think It’s Gonna Last?

The American indie folk band Big Red Machine, collaboration between musicians Aaron Dessner and Justin Vernon, will release a new album titled How Long Do You Think It’s Gonna Last? on August 27th. The Album is centered on themes of childhood, family dynamics and mental health. It consists of 15 tracks, nine of which feature vocals from guest acts.

Bliss n Eso – The Sun

The Australian hip hop trio Bliss n Eso will share  their long awaited album titled The Sun on on August 27th. The Sun will be the trio’s first album in four years, following on from 2017’s Off The Grid. The Sun features a smorgasbord of features from all over the world, with Kasey Chambers, Dizzee Rascal, Fergus James and more all set to make appearances. You can watch the album trailer here.

Chubby and the Gang – The Mutt’s Nuts

The English rock band Chubby and the Gang will drop a new album titled The Mutt’s Nuts on August 27th. Their upcoming album includes 15 new tracks. In addition, 4 singles from the album have been shared so far. You can listen to them here.

Chvreches – Screen Violence

The Scottish synth-pop band Chvrches will release their fourth studio album titled Screen Violence on August 27th. The album began in 2020 during the COVID-19 pandemic as ideas shared over video calls and audio-sharing programs. It was produced by the band and recorded between Glasgow and Los Angeles. Frontwoman Lauren Mayberry said it felt “freeing initially” for the album to start out as something “escapist” but that the lyrics ended up being “definitely still personal”.

E*vax – E*vax

The Brooklyn-based electronic rock duo Ratatat‘s Evan Mast, lso known as E*vax, will drop a new solo album. The self-titled LP arrives August 27 via Because Music. Speaking of the album, he said; “I used to be way more precious. A lot of this stuff on the record is about trying to skip the brain processes that can get in the way of making something that really feels sincere.”

Gretta Ray – Begin to Look Around

The Australian singer-songwriter Gretta Ray will share her debut studio album titled Begin to Look Around on August 27th. It includes fifteen new tracks. Gretta Ray said that her debut album; “This record is a documentation and celebration of the lessons I have learned about love, life and my unremitting passion for music as I’ve stepped into my early twenties. It is beautiful how much you change your mind throughout those formative years; things can always be seen from a different perspective, and when you’re immersed in incredible opportunities that see you travelling the world, falling in and out of love and losing your sense of independence only for it to return stronger than ever before, it is only natural that your view of yourself and the world will be refined when you wake up, and begin to look around.”

Halsey – If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power

The American singer-songwriter Ashley Frangipane, known professionally as Halsey, will release a new album titled If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power on August 27th. Her fourth studio album is set to features 15 new songs. Halsey recruited American musician Trent Reznor and English musician Atticus Ross for the album’s production. She described the project as “a concept album about the joys and horrors of pregnancy and childbirth.”

Maisie Peters – You Signed Up for This

The British singer-songwriter Maisie Peters will drop her debut studio album titled You Signed Up for This on August 27th. The upcoming album includes 14 new tracks.

About Salih Metin 624 Articles
Hi! I'm Salih, a freelance writer and a fan of indie music. I'm sorry for any grammatical errors. Please bear with me as it's not my first language. You can contact me for correction any time: salih(at)