M83 Announces Upcoming Album “DSVII”

The electronic music band M83 has announced a new album titled “DSVII“. It is the eighth studio album by French band.  It will be released on September 20 via  Naïve and Mute Records. It is a sequel album to Digital Shades Vol. 1, which was released in 2007. The band’s last album Junk was released in 2016. After three years they are back with 15 new songs. You can check the track-list below.

01. Hell Riders
02. A Bit of Sweetness
03. Goodbye Captain Lee
04. Colonies
05. Meet The Friends
06. Feelings
07. A Word of Wisdom
08. Lune De Fiel
09. Jeux D’Enfants
10. A Taste of the Dusk
11. Lunar Son
12. Oh Yes You’re There, Everyday
13. Mirage
14. Taifun Glory
15. Temple of Sorrow

The album was inspired by 80s video games and he soundtracks of science fiction and fantasy films. You can check all the references of the new album below.

Video game music:

The Legend of Zelda / Koji Kondo
Phantasy Star II / Tokuhiko Uwabo
Solomon’s Key / Michiharu Hasuya
Crystalis / Yoko Osaka
Final Fantasy / Nobuo Uematsu
Dragon Quest / Koichi Sugiyama
Faxanadu / Jun Chikuma
Mother / Hirokazu Tanaka


Plantasia / Mort Garson
The Wozard Of Iz / Mort Garson
Switched-On Bach / Wendy Carlos
Discreet Music / Brian Eno
Trilogie de la mort / Eliane Radigue
Manhattan Research, Inc. / Raymond Scott
Seven Waves / Suzanne Ciani
New Age Of Earth / Ash Ra Tempel


Fantastic Planet / René Laloux
Gandahar /René Laloux
Satyricon / Federico Fellini
Zardoz / John Boorman
The NeverEnding Story / Wolfgang Petersen
Phantasm / Don Coscarelli
Quest / Saul Bass
In the Mouth of Madness / John Carpenter

Main synths used for the recording:

ARP 2600
Matrix 12
Prophet 6
Roland Jupiter 6 and 8
Roland Jx 3p
Roland Juno 106
Synthi Aks

About Fatih Metin 305 Articles
Hi! I'm Fatih, a freelance writer and a fan of indie music. For more information or to require a correction please contact: contact(at)indieheads.net