Lower Dens Announces Their New Album “The Competition”

Lower Dens, the American indie pop band from Baltimore has announced their new album The Competition. It will be released on September 6, 2019 via Ribbon Music. The band is back after four years with 11 new songs. The lead single “Young Republicans” was released with the new album announcement. The bandleader Jana Hunter commented about the album like that:

The issues that have shaped my life, for better or for worse, have to do with coming from a family and a culture that totally bought into this competitive mindset. I was wild and in a lot of pain as a kid; home life was very bleak, and pop songs were a guaranteed escape to a mental space where beauty, wonder, and love were possible. I wanted to write songs that might have the potential to do that.

You can watch lead single music video which is directed by Raul Gonzo below.

Jana Hunter commented about the video on social media like that:

I am really excited about this video. Raul Gonzo saw what the song meant right away, got its “politics”, got its humor, and translated it into this strange, wicked, hilarious, beautiful narrative little piece of film better than I could’ve possibly hoped.

You can check the track-list of the new album below.

01 – “Galapagos”
02 – “Hand Of God”
03 – “Two Faced Love”
04 – “Young Republicans”
05 – “Real Thing”
06 – “Buster Keaton”
07 – “I Drive”
08 – “Simple Life”
09 – “Empire Sundown”
10 – “Lucky People”
11 – “In Your House”

About Fatih Metin 305 Articles
Hi! I'm Fatih, a freelance writer and a fan of indie music. For more information or to require a correction please contact: contact(at)indieheads.net

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.