5 New Albums You Should Listen to Now: Andy Shauf, Sufjan Stevens and Macie Stewart, Nao, and More

5 Albums You Should Listen

Andy Shauf: Wilds

Andy Shauf launched Wilds on short notice after the song “Spanish on the Beach” earlier this month, more than a year and a half after The Neon Skyline. Shauf’s Neon Skyline B-sides “Jeremy’s Wedding” and “Judy,” as well as this week’s “Jaywalker,” are included on the album.


Macie Stewart: Mouth Full of Glass

Macie Stewart, arranger and multi-instrumentalist, put together a solo full-length for Owen Ashworth’s Orindal Records after releasing Fantasize Your Ghost as part of Chicago’s Ohmme last year. Stewart concentrates on light fingerpicked acoustic guitar pieces on Mouth Full of Glass, filled up with hints of electronics and strings. Before the album’s release, she shared the title track, “Finally,” and “Garter Snake.”

Mas Aya: Máscaras

Brandon Valdivia, a Toronto composer, producer, and drummer, goes under the moniker Mas Aya. Máscaras is the follow-up to his 2017 album Nikan. Matt Smith mixed and mastered the new album, which features the songs “Momento Presente,” “Tiemp Ahora” with Lido Pimienta,” and “Quiescence.” Valdivia has played with bands such as the Cosmic Range, I Have Eaten the City, and others in addition to his solo work as Mas Aya.

Sufjan Stevens / Angelo De Augustine: A Beginner’s Mind

The songs of A Beginner’s Mind were written in an upstate New York cottage by Sufjan Stevens and Angelo De Augustine. During their retreat, the artists performed music and watched movies every day, and the 12 tracks on their joint album are largely inspired by the movies they saw, such as Return to Oz, which informed their single “Back to Oz.” “Fictional California,” “Olympus,” and “Reach Out” are among the previously released tunes on the album.

Nao: And Then Life Was Beautiful

And Then Life Was Beautiful is the follow-up to Nao’s Saturn, which was released in 2018. Serpentwithfeet (“Postcards”), Adekunle Gold (“Antidote”), Lucky Daye (“Good Luck”), and Lianne La Havas (“Woman”) all contribute to the new album. Nao released the album’s title track as well as the single “Messy Love” earlier this summer.

About Fatih Metin 305 Articles
Hi! I'm Fatih, a freelance writer and a fan of indie music. For more information or to require a correction please contact: contact(at)indieheads.net